Close message Scootle has stopped supporting resources that use the Adobe Flash plug-in from 18 Dec 2020. Learning paths that include these resources will have alerts to notify teachers and students that one or more of the resources will be unavailable. Click here for more info.

Teacher guide Rimsky-Korsakov Adagio

TLF ID M024858

This set of resources supports the development of listening skills, identification of elements of music, and recognition of instruments in a symphony orchestra. The focus is Rimsky-Korsakov’s Sinfonietta on Russian Themes, Op 31, II Adagio. A video features conductor Richard Gill AO with musicians of the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra using the music of Rimsky-Korsakov to explore elements of music and strengthen instrument recognition. An audio recording of the TSO performing the piece conducted by Elena Schwarz and a downloadable PDF of the score are also provided. The resources are part of a larger collection, The Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra in your classroom – Insights into the workings of music with Richard Gill AO.

Educational details

Educational value
  • This resource would be extremely valuable for the Responding strand of the Music curriculum for Year 3 to 4 and Year 5 to 6, especially for content descriptions that refer to the development of aural skills, and to recognising and performing elements of music including dynamics, pitch and rhythm patterns.
Year level

3; 4; 5; 6

Learning area
  • The Arts
  • Arts

Other details

  • Contributor
  • Name: Education Services Australia
  • Organization: Education Services Australia
  • Description: Data manager
  • Address: VIC, AUSTRALIA
  • URL:
  • Copyright Holder
  • Name: Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra
  • Organization: Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra
  • URL:
  • Publisher
  • Name: Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra
  • Organization: Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra
  • Description: Publisher
  • URL:
  • Resource metadata contributed by
  • Name: Education Services Australia Ltd
  • Organisation: Education Services Australia Ltd
  • Address: AUSTRALIA
  • URL:
Access profile
  • Unknown
Learning Resource Type
  • Online
  • © 2017 Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra Pty Ltd, unless otherwise indicated. Unless otherwise indicated, this material may be used in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Australia (CC BY-NC 3.0 AU) licence